The Cathedral of Saint Paul

Home » Sacred Liturgy » Holy Days of Obligation/Special Schedules

Holy Days of Obligation/Special Schedules

There are five (5) Holy Days of Obligation that are observed in our part of the United States:

  • Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God (January 1)
  • Solemnity of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (August 15)
  • Solemnity of All Saints (November 1)
  • Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception (December 8)
  • Solemnity of the Nativity of Our Lord Jesus Christ – Christmas (December 25)

Please check the bulletin for Holy Day schedules. Link provided below.

ASH WEDNESDAY: Ash Wednesday is not a Holy Day of Obligation but a majority of Catholics make it to Mass that day regardless. Masses with imposition of ashes are ordinarily held at 6:30am (recited), 12:10pm (cantor), and 5:30pm (choir/incense). There is no vigil Mass of Ash Wednesday.

HOLY WEEK & EASTER: Holy Thursday Evening Mass of the Lord’s Supper is at 7:00pm; Good Friday Liturgy is at 3:00pm, the Easter Vigil is at 8:00pm, and Easter Sunday Masses are 7:15am, 8:30am, and 11:00am.

BE SURE TO CHECK THE BULLETIN AND/OR CALL THE OFFICE TO VERIFY EACH HOLY DAY SCHEDULE. This is especially important since the obligation for some – not all! – of the Holy Days is abrogated when they fall on certain days of the week. Catholics should form the habit of attending every Holy Day even if there is not an obligation in a given year. However, it can be confusing and schedules do vary, so always check the bulletin and/or call! Our office may be reached at (205) 251-1279.